all the way or not at all

23 Sep

this summer in Washington DC

I am one of those people who likes to do things all the way. I pour myself into something trying to make it my best. That sounds great, doesn’t it? People should try to do their best at all times. But along with that there is a tiny problem I have…if I can’t do something all the way, the way I think is best and needs to be done for me, than I lose interest or don’t do it. Sometimes I’ll work and try to be the best I can be – I read articles, books, blog posts. I talk to friends, experts, etc. on the subject at hand. I’ll spend countless hours making things “just right.” But there’s that pesky side that gives up.

Enter in blogging. I have this romantic notion of blogging each day, great posts, that everyone loves to read and comment on. I enjoy blogging to keep a record of how God moves in my life and my family, I like keeping the memories of my children and our family at hand, I enjoy the community that comes from the blogging world. Anyways, this summer was a whirlwind for us that to be honest, I think I’m just starting to come out from. Right after our whirlwind summer of travel, funeral, and church changes, we started the school year. Added to the school year, and for a homeschooling family, that means many different things…but I started teaching at a really neat school for homeschool kids two days a week. At times I have felt so overwhelmed. I have had to readjust my priorities and for many months blogging just couldn’t be the priority.

However, all through this I have learned many valuable lessons. One of the biggest lessons I have learned is that I don’t have to do it all on my own. I have to turn over things to God to help me through. I place such pressure on myself to do it “just so” and that becomes heavy. I’ve learned to give up some things that really aren’t that important. I’ve had to evaluate my time and what I prioritize.

Anyways, all this to say, I enjoy blogging for the various reasons I blog. I’m going to keep going on in this tiny corner of the web with my thoughts, wishes, and ideas. I may not blog daily like I once did, but I am aiming for 2-3 times a week. You guys are such a blessing to me, and I know God uses my words to be a blessing to others that I want to make time for this.

Love y’all!

3 Responses to “all the way or not at all”

  1. melodyjoy83 September 23, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    um…can i please copy and paste this on my blog?? haha! love it. i can relate and agree with you completely. but i do love it when you do write. and that picture of your kids is way precious :)

  2. bonnie Widmaier September 24, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    so true… i once read a quote that said “when the blog is quiet, life is not” so true. i enjoy blogging and reading blogs much too, but sometimes it seems to become another “chore” on my list and i don’t like this feeling at all. i enjoy your blogs and honest heart even if it is just once a month. enjoy the process, don’t stress if it’s not every day. have a great weekend with your fam.

  3. Mom R. September 28, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    Love you whether you blog or not……

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

