learning in the everyday

5 Jan

Often I find myself falling into a trap that has me thinking that the only successful days I have in homeschooling are ones that have a clear, organized, subject-filled plan in place. I’m okay following a day like that about 3 times a week. However the other days I am itching to get out of the house, explore the world around, run errands, and meet up with friends. When I fall into that trap, on those days I think about how the kids aren’t learning, I’m slacking in schooling, or they’ll never get x, y, z. I forget one of the main reasons we homeschool our children is so that they will see that learning happens all around – at any place or time. When I stop and reflect on that I remember that -

the brothers playing legos together this morning in a peaceful manner were working on social skills and math concepts in using the legos

free play led to the boys drawing maps of a friend’s home and yard, complete with a plan for spying on chickens

putting together the pieces of an animal habitat led to research about triops, crustaceans, and the observation of a roly poly

uninterrupted time inspired quiet reading of new library books

openly available art supplies inspired artwork, drawings in sketch pads, and chalk drawings

Sometimes I need to remember my own thoughts about learning happening all around — those lessons could be the richest ones that my children learn. Sure a plan is great, curriculum is a wonderful help, and I still feel the pressures to meet standards and “get it all in,” but I can step back and see that just daily living is not done in vain when I make myself available for the littles, provide resources and opportunities, and encourage them to explore.

4 Responses to “learning in the everyday”

  1. Christa Arant January 5, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    Very well said…I fall into this “trap” as well. It’s a great reminder to just let go sometimes and enjoy life with our little treasures. :)

    • chellejd January 5, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

      So true Christa. And remember how much learning can happen along the way…. :)

  2. Courtney January 5, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

    Thank you so much for this! It completely blessed me! We are deciding if we should homeschool my almost 4 year old and I often get overwhelmed at the idea. I start to feel I’m not disciplined enough or that we will be stuck at home doing traditional schooling all the time. This made homeschooling feel doable and exciting! I really needed to hear that!

    • chellejd January 5, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

      Your comment so blessed me! Im glad the post inspired you; homeschooling really is doable and exciting. Praying for you as you decide if it’s the right road for your family.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

