My baby is 4!

16 May

I can’t believe that my baby turned 4 today. 4 seems SO big to me, so old. I was teaching a class of 4 year olds when I found out we were pregnant with Cade. We had tried for a year unsuccessfully to get pregnant and was starting down the path of finding out why. Much to our surprise, God was simply saying “wait on my timing! (as He does SO often to me!). My class of 4 year olds seemed so big when I was teaching them, that’s why Cade seems grown up now. I was pregnant the entire year teaching, clearing up 9 days left of school before he was welcomed into this world. He was born at 37 weeks with a mildly complicated pregnancy marked by pre-term labor. After going off my meds for preterm labor, Cade was born 48 hours later.

When I first saw you, I thought you were the most beautiful baby ever – most mommas think that, I know – but I really did think it. You had the fairest, softest skin and the cutest little nose. You were wrinkly and didn’t quite fill up your skin all the way. It was adorable. SO much has changed since that moment 4 years ago.  You’ve passed hundreds of milestones, talk in paragraphs now, telling stories and making “deals.” You run, jump, gallop, skip, and do “cartwheels.” You have developed such love for others and empathy. I see what a caretaker you are to Benjamin and how you protect him. Your sweet words say “I love you” daily to me and melt my heart. Sensitive you are, but I’d rather you have many feelings than be numb and not have them. You have learned so much about Jesus, church, love, friends, and family. I can’t wait to see what this upcoming year has in store for you and our family.

We are truly blessed to have your precious self given to us. We try to make the best choices in raising you and love you with a love that knows no end. You’re an amazing little boy and my prayer for you this year is that you develop a desire to know more about Jesus and God, you see church as a happy place, and you deepen your relationships with friends and your brother. I love you my baby.

2 Responses to “My baby is 4!”

  1. Peggy May 16, 2008 at 8:13 pm #

    You have such a special little boy-it’s amazing how emotional we can be about our children. Cade loves life and we pray that he is always the curious, loving, carefree boy that you have raised him to be. Thank you for letting us be a part of his life. We love him with no boundaries!!! Praise God!!
    Mom

  2. amanda May 18, 2008 at 9:26 pm #

    yay! you blogged! Love you girl, lets talk this week. Its time for you to have a little girl so you can stop getting the blues when your boys are growing up so fast 🙂

Leave a Reply

