Sigh.

15 Jun

Do you ever have thos edays that you feel that voice whisper in your ear – “You’re not good at this.”? As I sit here trying to clean up dinner in my kitchen that needs attention, looking at the ever growing pile of laundry that I cannot keep up with, and hear my children arguing – I am just having one of those moments. I wonder how other moms out there keep it all together – clean house, full fridge, great meals, perfect kids, etc. I even slacked with Father’s Day today because I simply didn’t put the effort into it. I can’t really make an excuse for it.

What do you do when you feel like everything else is getting the best of you and you are completely ineffective as a mom? Wife? How on earth do you manage to keep up with it all?

3 Responses to “Sigh.”

  1. Amanda June 16, 2008 at 9:02 pm #

    The lord is how we do it because the devil is a liar. That’s what Karen always says 🙂 you are doing so great and I am always here if you ever need any help with anything. Cleaning babysitting. Take advantage of those with no kids yet. Love you

  2. Rheagan June 17, 2008 at 12:40 am #

    I’ll be honest, I don’t know how you do what you do.
    What I do know is that you probably make a great mother and I say this only after spending a few days with you in Asheville observing your mommy like quality as you took such great care of us all. They are so blessed to have you, after all, you did feed them dinner 🙂

  3. Debbie June 17, 2008 at 3:41 am #

    Oh Michelle, we DON’T keep it all together. And anyone who tells you that is a bigger liar than the devil himself (agreeing w/Amanda!).
    I think the BEST, absolutely BEST thing you can give your kids and husband is a woman who doesn’t try to do it all and be it all. Easy to say, but we all struggle with it.
    I heard a great pastor say one time, “When you wake up in the morning and say ‘Good morning, Lord’, you’ve already done EVERYTHING you can possibly do at that point to please Him.” Nothing else added to the day can enhance how He already feels about you.
    But we are performance-based pleasers and so we measure ourselves against some crazy standard of perfection for being a mother, wife, daughter, friend and Yes, even a Christian. Every once in awhile though, we need to blow the whistle on that stuff and remember that He is pleased with us. Love you!

Leave a Reply

