authenticity?

9 Jul

I was talking with a friend today about friendships and the “realness” we experience within them. We were saying how at times we feel like we might be more quiet or introverted in situations with friends where we know we should really open up and “be ourselves.” However, even in circles of close-knit relationships we hesitate to do so for fear of – I don’t know, judgment? ridicule? rejection?

Wouldn’t it be awesome to have a group of friends, although all different, who can TOTALLY be themselves, flaws, imperfections, failures and all and still be nothing but love and support? I think a lot of women especially have experienced rejection at some point in a relationship and therefore hold themselves back from these types of relationships for fear of being hurt again. I love my friends. I have some of the best friends in this world, yet something in me always holds back from letting me be me. I think part of it is the enemy using our insecurities to make us feel fear in vulnerability and authenticity. Will my friends love me the way I am with my flaws and all?

One Response to “authenticity?”

  1. amanda July 9, 2008 at 9:37 pm #

    This is a huge passion of mine right now and I think pretty much our whole group of girls knows it now. This was going to be our next topic of conversation for bookclub. I have the fear of rejection just as much as anyone but our core group should be those that it doesnt matter you are right. It is a safe place. I think we all need to know that there is no jugdement here and that is exactly what we were going to get to. Let down those walls but with the right people. Dont just let anyone see these things, only the ones you trust with your emotions and thoughts because sometimes those things are just going to start flowing and we all need to be there for each other. I love you!

Leave a Reply

