What a night!

17 Jul

I don’t even know where to begin on this blog post becasue so much is swirling around in my head right now. But I do know I just need to get it out. To savor the moment. Tonight our church went down to a park downtown, Finlay Park to work with 153 Project, a mission targeted at serving the homeless in Columbia. I brought Ben and Cade with me because I knew I would have much help with my parents and with the youth. When hearing the opportunities of where to serve for the night – serving the meal, handing out water, handing out socks or t-shirts, or washing feet, I knew where I needed to and wanted to be — washing feet. I love washing people’s feet, in a totally humbling, not about me sort of way. I have taught the kids at church before which ended in me washing their feet, I have washed feet on missions trips, and tonight I truly felt God telling me, wash feet. There were about 200 homeless gathered tonight for food, then some would come have their feet washed, dried, powdered, and new socks put on.  Cade and Ben were playing with the other kiddos on the playground during most of this time, but my mom went and got them so they could be a part of serving with JD and I. We wanted them to be exposed to helping and serving and had prepared them prior to driving to the park on what they would see.

To say I was proud of my boys is a TOTAL understatement. Cade came to me and eagerly said, “I want to wash feet, Mom!” I let him jump in and he helped me soap up, scrub, and dry a woman’s tired, aching feet. As I watched my beautiful baby, serve in such an innocent, humbling way – he was so serious, taking his task very seriously. Of course, in true 4 year-old fashion, he was finished after our friend Mary. However, I pray the lessons he learned tonight, although short, make an impact for a lifetime.

Benjamin was serving with grandma and grandpa, handing out socks, saying “God bless you” in his squeakt 2-year old voice. How precious.

This is what I want my family to be about. Starting now, starting young, I pray that JD and I can instill values of humility, service, gratitude, and unconditional love in them. They don’t see dirt, income level, education, or race. The just do what needs to be done and so innocently.

After I put the boys in bed tonight Cade called me back into his room. He sais, “Mommy, can I pray for you?” Of course, I said “Yeah.” He seriously bowed his head, folded his hands and prayed this prayer which finished off a perfect night – “Dear God. thank you for my mommy. Thank you for the people we helped. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.”

God is SO good. I just feel so full right now. 🙂

3 Responses to “What a night!”

  1. Amanda July 17, 2008 at 3:08 pm #

    Wow how awesome!I wish I could have been there.thanks for sharing that humbling experience and also for being obedient after hearing God on washing feet.love you!

  2. Amanda July 17, 2008 at 3:13 pm #

    Wow how awesome!I wish I could have been there. Thank you for sharing that humbling experiance and also for obeying God after hearing from him on washing feet. Love you

  3. rheagan July 17, 2008 at 11:33 pm #

    I kid you not when I say thats the sweetest thing I ever read. I dont even know your boys but I am so proud of their awesomeness and willingness to serve at such a young age. You must be be one heck of a momma!!!!

Leave a Reply

