savoring the moment

31 Jul

We’re back from a fabulous vacation at Amelia Island, FL. Had such a great time, we stayed for a day longer than planned. I will ty to post pics soon. Today was a blah and crazy day. Started off by waking up after a very late night with a phone call that our church got broken into for the second time in 3 days. Nothing stolen, just vandalism. Arrived at Preschool with our last day ahead for summer session, water fun day, and a luncheon for our teachers. Didn’t get much done AT ALL at work. The kiddos were out of whack and had a-t-t-i-t-u-d-e-s horrible! Not to mention a HUGE case of PMS!

Sigh. It didn’t get much better as the day went on. Wednesdays are JD’s late day working – 9am to 10pm. Maybe lunch. Single mom status for the day. All I wanted was a nap and I got a little one.

Even in the midst of craziness and blahs, I found delight in the little things. Cade awoke from his nap, after he’d slept a good deal and came out to the couch. I was dreading waking up from my nap, as I wasn’t quite ready yet. He curled up on me on the couch and returned to his peaceful slumber for an hour! In my arms!

Then tonight after a long day, taking the boys bowling with the youth from church, and a late night – Ben was very restless to go to sleep. Kept calling us in there, crying, climbing out of bed, etc. I gently picked him up and returned to the unused rocking chair that rocked hundreds of miles during his early years. There he settled peacefully into my arms.

I sighed while looking at him. How many times do I get the blessing of holding both my precious children, sleeping peacefully in my arms in the same day? They haven’t even done this for years. I held onto the moment as I knew it would pass quickly. The rest of the day forgotten, my mood recharged.

2 Responses to “savoring the moment”

  1. Amanda August 1, 2008 at 2:21 am #

    Hey girl.I just realized we both opened our blogs with fabulous vacation 🙂 I can’t wait to have those sweet moments with my kids one day. Love you.

  2. rheagan August 2, 2008 at 3:53 pm #

    Good to hear a boy always need his mommy!
    I hope I have two cutie pies like Cade and Ben

Leave a Reply

