Overcoming intimidation

10 Sep

Something I have always wanted to do is to can food. Tomatoes, apples, anything really…. But the problem is that I have always been intimidated about the process, so I have just shyed away from doing it. Every year we pick blueberries, strawberries, buy tons of peaches and tomatoes from the farmer’s market, get huge squashes and loads of corn, and pick apples, but we either eat it or freeze it.

Saturday we took our annual trip to Nivens Apple Farm as a family and had a great time picking apples off the trees. Goodness — no one told me how many apples are in a bushel! We must have brought home close to 70 apples! So JD and I made an apple pie on Sunday, we’ve shared apples, made some apple sauce for snack, and had many apples with peanut butter. I still have like 50 apples left!!

Well I decided tonight was my opportunity to overcome my intimidation of canning. A good friend of mine, Laura, loaned me the equipment and walked me through it. I read a book on it and the instruction manual and went to work. Tonight I canned my first batch of applesauce! I am so proud of myself for trying something new that had previously intimidated me. It wasn’t that difficult and even was kind of fun!

Leave a Reply

