Sustainer

5 Nov

“I look up to the mountains – does my help come from there? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth!” Psalm 121:1-2

Today my Abba Father took my challenge I gave Him this morning to sustain me today and give me His energy, and left me singing praises this evening.

I woke up this morning feeling horrible. Chest cold, achy head, asthma flaring…all the signs of a nasty cold for me. Add in some morning sickness and nausea and it was a miserable morning. To make matters worse – JD was leaving today to go out of town for 3 days and I was left with the duty of single mom! So mix in two active boys on a rainy day. 🙂 Sound like fun yet? 

As we were driving away from bringing Daddy to the airport this morning and heading to Barnes & Noble to play, I whined to my boys that I wanted my mommy to take care of me. They thought that was hysterical and laughed. 

We struggled and made it through this morning – with my goal being glorious nap time. I was able to sleep for 1.5 hours and wok feeling somewhat better. This evening we went and voted. had pizza & movie night and snuggled. 

Here’s the crazy part about God giving us exactly what we need – and sometimes more — I had a HUGE energy burst this evening! I haven’t had energy since I got that positive on the pg test 6 weeks ago! Well I put that energy to good use – cleaned out my kitchen cabinets, vacuumed and wiped them down, gave the boys a bath and did bedtime (with stories and all!), folded 3 loads of laundry, loaded the dishwasher, made my coffee for the morning, laid out the kids clothes for tomorrow, and fed the dog! Amazing!!!

This morning I never thought I would make it through today. Seriously. But now at the close of it, I am heading to bed, singing praises to the One who sustained me and brought me through this day. Far surpassing my expectations of it. Isn’t that just like Him?

2 Responses to “Sustainer”

  1. Amanda November 7, 2008 at 7:24 pm #

    I really need that energy He gave you. Glad your day ended well! I was really feeling bad for you.

  2. bonnie November 11, 2008 at 1:59 am #

    god is good. i like reading your blog. keep it up

Leave a Reply

