Gentle words

8 Jul

“A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.”

– Proverbs 15:1

I am daily challenged by this verse in my parenting. So often I don’t even think about the way I say things to my littles. I have realized though that when we’re in a heated moment and I lose my temper, I yell, I enter into a battle with them – it only makes it worse. My children fight back with them same intensity I give and they react with anger. I need to understand that my children cannot make me angry. I own my emotions and should not give them that much control over me. Aren’t I the parent and the one in control? By allowing myself to get angry, and even worse – to show it – I lose authority and control over my children. They become the stronger ones in our relationship, and they know it. It’s a difficult thing to maintain a calm demeanor when we feel our authority has been challenged, we are being ignored, or our children are acting out. But in the end a gentle word will teach our children proper reponses to situations. It will foster a better relationship with our children. And it will please our Heavenly Father as well.

4 Responses to “Gentle words”

  1. Cara July 8, 2009 at 2:13 pm #

    Thanks for the conviction, Michelle. I read this not 15 minutes after losing my temper with my daughter. Looks like Mommy needs to go apologize for yelling…

  2. Marlo July 8, 2009 at 4:55 pm #

    Love the reminder, it is so true!!! Thanks for the encouragment, its nice to know I am not the only one to make this mistake(:

  3. bonnie July 10, 2009 at 12:54 am #

    you are so wise. i had a really hard day with garret on monday and lost my temper and you are so right that when we raise our voice it only make the fire rage hotter. this verse will be going on my fridge as a reminder for myself. i wish we lived closer i would love to spend time with you other then in cyberspace 🙂

  4. ruth July 14, 2009 at 7:26 pm #

    i came across your blog as you left a comment on my daughter, bonnie widmaier’s blog hope you don’t mind. you did say if any one was out there to leave a comment so here i am. what wise words you wrote to encourage even us old mothers 🙂 i love your blog name, i’m also in need of a cup or two to keep me going. wishing you well and god bless you and your family

Leave a Reply

