to homeschool or not?

23 Nov

So we are at a crossroads as to what to do next year for education for the boys. We are praying about and considering homeschooling them. It makes sense in so many ways, but to be honest, I am scared to death! I love being with my kiddos and love education. Education is something I am knowledgeable and passionate about. I want to be the biggest influencer in my children’s life and want to embrace the opportunity every day to disciple them. We have a flexible schedule in our family and as important as I think education is, I also think our family is more important. I don’t want to lose time with my kids! I have a hard time with seeing how after sending my children to school for 6-8 hours a day then homework, we have any time for God in our home or family time. We need to be together to serve together, learn together, grow together. Not to send everyone their own way at 7 in the morning.

Cade is in kindergarten at a great school this year, attending only half-days. He’s not the kid to fit in the box that schools have created. He wants to be outside exploring and learning about his environment. Learning to read takes its own form as he copies labels on our art supplies and “reads” familiar books to me. His teachers think he’ll be lost in the district next year with the type of learner he is. Me? I think they’ll change who God has made him to be. I don’t want his spirit broken or anything about his beautiful spirit changed.

So just some thoughts about where we’re at and what we’re thinking. Should we do it? That’s the big question. Curriculum choices, accountability groups, athletic involvement, socialization, etc. are all things to consider and think about. I want to follow what God is telling me as a mom I need to do. So for now we pray and discuss. Research and think.

3 Responses to “to homeschool or not?”

  1. Linda November 23, 2009 at 6:13 pm #

    I say do it! If I could do it- anyone can! I would not trade that time I had with Ally for anything! There are so many ways for them to learn outside of school- just a trip to the grocery store is fun-

  2. Jennifer November 24, 2009 at 6:45 am #

    Mmmm. I just stumbled across your post, and I couldn’t resist leaving a comment. I’m a home schooling mom, and I love it. It’s the toughest thing we’ve ever done as a family, but I’m pretty sure it’s the best decision we’ve made in the BEST times…and even in the tougher times.

    Praying and discussing is a wonderful way to make a good decision. 🙂

    Blessings!

  3. Brook November 30, 2009 at 12:47 pm #

    You should do it! I was home schooled for 3 years and it (right before coming to Highlands) and loved it. I only wish my mom had decided to do it earlier. I was one of those “different” out-of-the box learners. The great part was that I didn’t have to spend all day doing school. Mom and I usually finished all of our lessons for the day in 3 hours or less. The rest of the day was for living! 🙂 I’m seriously considering homeschooling Ben when the time comes.

Leave a Reply

