stewarding our children

7 Mar

Okay y’all I had an awful dream last night! One of our family best friends is a marine in the reserves. He’s been talking about the possibility of going oversees due to all the unrest and conflict in the Middle East. Boo. So then, add in my surfing the web reading various news headlines about Egypt and Libya. Anyways, I guess the weight of those thoughts in the back of my mind produced the following dream last night:

Our friend was over our house when he received a call that he was leaving the next morning to go to the Middle East. His officer asked to speak to me as well. Once I was on the phone, he told me that it would be required for Harper to go too! She was in the dream, like now, almost 2, just a babe. But that they would need her there. I couldn’t understand why they would want someone they’d have to take care of so much rather than more adults, but he assured me they had a plan for her! So we packed her bags and I was an emotional wreck. Just bottom of the pit despair and loss. It was awful!

Luckily, I woke up before she actually left, but it was one of those dreams that I keep thinking about this morning. I can see where the mix of thoughts came from, but such craziness?

Practically though, I keep thinking about stewardship. Just like we are given resources, money, talents to steward and care for – our children aren’t really ours either. We are given them for an undetermined length of time, and in that time we’re to care for, love, and help them grow and develop. Although they are given to us, they can be taken from us at any moment. 1 Corinthians 10:26 tells us, “The earth is the Lord’s, and everything in it.” To me, that adds more weight to the responsibility of parenting. I will be answerable for how well I steward the gift God has given me of my child.

2 Responses to “stewarding our children”

  1. marietjie March 16, 2011 at 4:33 am #

    Hallo there, It’s the first time I am visiting your blog. I have started reading your entries from the top, I find what you write really inspiring. I am pregnant with our first child now, a boy, he is due in about 6 weeks time. I needed to hear about us being stewards of the children God gives us. It is so easy to feel the weight of bringing up a child in God’s ways so that he will love God as his Lord and Saviour, but you reminded me that we are to be stewards of what God gives us, doing our best and trusting God to help us every day to walk in His ways. You are an amasing women and I am glad that I glad that I came upon this site this morning. I am from South Africa, so smaal world hey? 🙂 May God bless you and you family.

    • chellejd March 16, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

      Thank you so much! And welcome! Congrats on the birth of your first child, you must be so excited! Crazy the distance between us and how the Lord uses to to reach each other. 🙂

Leave a Reply

