potty training, church planting, & more

15 Mar

So I have so many random thoughts going through my head right now that I’m having hard time with clarity for blogging. So I’ll share the random thoughts, then maybe they’ll be out of my head and I can move on! Hopefully you’re entertained by my crazy mind of thoughts.

– Sweet girl Harper LOVES to sit on the potty. SO much, it’s actually annoying since she’s all of umm… 22 months old and the boys didn’t potty train until 3. BUT yesterday morning, while sitting on the potty for the 4th time of the day (and it was only 9am), she actually went! Is this normal for girls? OR I’m thinking maybe total coincidence. I don’t know. But any smart mommas out there – where do I go from here?

– Feeling creative and crafty but have no idea what to work on. I’d like to learn to make a quilt, but love projects that instantly gratify and a quilt is a pretty long-term project. I’m kind of planning a bedroom re-do with this cool idea possibly as a wall. Jd is game for it, but I honestly just don’t know when to get it done. Earlier I was thinking that Harper needs pants with ruffles at the bottom. Kinda like this or this. Then again, I still have Christmas projects I was making to finish. (Eek!)

– God is doing something through me with the church planting business. It is hard! I guess you enter into anything with certain expectations, but God is using mine to turn me upside down I think. In the same way He’s blowing my mind with some challenging friendships lately – in a good way. But lots of inward thinking and looking, and I’m not so good at that! 🙂

– This little bloggy blog. Not sure what to do with it. I like bogging frequently, it’s a challenge for me. And I think more than just my mom is reading it. But I’d LOVE some feedback. Let’s converse. Share your thoughts, experiences, etc. in the comments below. I’d love to “see” who is actually reading this. It might also help me figure out what types of things to write about. What do y’all like?

– Water. Yeah, I think I need to drink more. My skin is winter dry and I just don’t drink that much in a day. My new challenge – drink 8 glasses tomorrow (or 48 oz.). It’s a start!

 

Okay, enough randomness. Off to read, “Eat, Pray, Love.” I saw the movie last week, but heard the book was much better.

19 Responses to “potty training, church planting, & more”

  1. Jessi March 15, 2011 at 6:52 am #

    1) my experience with Glor has led me to believe that a comprehension of knowing what the potty is and how to do it doesn’t mean she has the control to stay dry & clean. Or that I have the patience or time for 4-5x/hour on the potty. So i decided to wait until she had the physical control to not go for a few hours.
    2) I want to talk more about church planting and what’s shifted it into hard for you.
    3) Again, I like your blogging.

    • Michele Adams March 15, 2011 at 7:12 am #

      Hey double “L”…I found that as I watched their drink intake at night and they were able to stay dry through the night, then I started taking ‘potty runs’ more seriously. As you know, it is more a physical feat then a willful feat. If her bladder isn’t ready…you are the only one being trained….lol. Love reading your blog and I love you!

    • chellejd March 15, 2011 at 9:56 am #

      Thanks Michele. You’re right – the boys were so easy, but they were never interested this early like she is. She went again this morning. Accident? Maybe. I guess we’ll see! And I love you!!

    • chellejd March 15, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

      Good thoughts on PT’ying Jessi! I so don’t have the patience either. And yes, let’s talk soon. Coffee date?

  2. Allison March 15, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    No experience with the potty training — I’m always looking to you for parenting advice 🙂

    I enjoy your blog, especially hearing about how God is transforming you as well as your new creative and crafty ideas. You also could write some blogs on food — what you love, what you cook, etc.

    • chellejd March 15, 2011 at 10:04 am #

      Thanks love. I could blog on food, but really none of my ideas in that department are original! I’d be linking to Pioneer Woman like every recipe! Maybe I can do a menu a week thing – with links to recipes I use. It may give people ideas of stuff to cook. Hmmm…. Love ya! xoxo

      • Michele Adams March 16, 2011 at 8:18 am #

        Really like that idea! Could always use new ideas! Your menu’s always sound so delish! Miss you and the fam!

  3. Jerry Boggess March 15, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    Hey, not just your mom reads your blogs !! You amaze me with your insights!! Like your new format too. Luv u

    • chellejd March 15, 2011 at 10:03 am #

      I love you too!!

  4. Cara Moody March 15, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    I potty trained both my girls right around Harper’s age with the “train in a day method.” As long as she stays dry for about 3 hours at a time she has the muscle control to handle it. A good test to see is if she goes down for nap time dry and wakes up dry. I think it’s actually better to start when they’re interested and initiating then to wait until it could be a power struggle.

    Here’s a really basic summary I found on eHow of the one day method:
    http://www.ehow.com/how_4687280_potty-train-toddler-one-day.html

    • chellejd March 15, 2011 at 10:02 am #

      Hmmm, don’t think I’ve heard of that. I’ll check it out. I’m really not in a hurry, but I don’t want to miss a window of opp if I have one! I’ll keep tabs on that nap time dry thing. Good idea!

  5. Stacy March 15, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    Of my two girls, one was headstrong and wouldn’t train until she was ready at 3.5 and at the threat of younger sister beating her to it. The other tried and tried without the muscle control since before she was 2. At 2.5, she’s staying dry even at naptime. 🙂

    I LOVE reading your blog. I like that you keep it short and sweet,just the amount that this busy mama can handle in a few minutes. I love the insight you have, and thankful that I can call you my friend!

    • chellejd March 15, 2011 at 10:01 am #

      Thanks Stacy!

  6. Rick March 15, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    I’m a fan of your blog, too – FYI :). Not a mom, but I live with one.

    • chellejd March 15, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

      🙂 Welcome Rick! You don’t have to be a Mom. But then again, you DO like coffee, so that’s good enough! Nice to see you here.

  7. Juli March 15, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    I love reading your blog too! Keeps me connected to you!! We potty trained much earlier and faster with the girls than with Eli. How is the birthday party planning going? We have a bunch of Owl stuff at Education Express and everytime I see them it makes me think of you!

    • chellejd March 15, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

      Hey Juli! Need to get on that planning. I have Cade’s on the 15th of May too. Been thinking about it though. 🙂 Glad you’re reading!

  8. Carol March 15, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    um…. i am supposed to potty train??? it’s been soooo long!!

    • chellejd March 15, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

      Welcome to motherhood, again!

Leave a Reply

