corners of my home: Harper’s nursery/toddler room

18 Mar

I’m excited to do a a second post in a new series on my blog that will show you a bit of who I am and the things that are important to our family. Each week, until I’ve completed the tour, I am going to take you on a tour of my home and show you some of my favorite corners. I would LOVE for you to do the same if you have a blog and post a link in the comments so we can (1) get to know each other, (2) see others’ creativity, (3) get decorating ideas!

This is Harper’s Nursery:

Harper's Nursery

We painted the green color when we first bought our house, before we even had plans for sweet baby girl. It was an office for a while before needing it for a nursery. We didn’t find out the gender of our baby when we were pregnant so we needed something gender neutral as well as very inexpensive. This room has actually become one of my favorite rooms as I love the simplicity of it, the natural light and the homemade feel.

The bedding for the crib came from the clearance rack at Target for 12.00. It has the green wall color in the circles and it matches perfectly. I thought it wasn’t boy or girl, so it worked perfectly. I also have a chocolate sheet that mixes it up. The crib came from a yard sale and lived at my parent’s house for baby #1 and #2 but we needed it this time around as I was sick and tired of white cribs after having 2 of them over the course of 4 years.

I made the sweet bird mobile hanging over the bed. I simply bough fabrics in the colors of the bedding pattern and made a bird template that I cut them out of. Then I sewed them, stuffed them and hung them from a white spray painted branch. The saying on the wall is vinyl letters from Uppercase Living.

I found this kitchen set being thrown away by a local preschool. So, I took it home and over the course of 3 months our family worked to refinish it for a Christmas gift for Harper. The boys sanded with sanders and sandpaper and Jd and I sealed it and replaced some hardware. She loves it! AND it cost us 6.00 for the polyurethane rather than the $926.00 price tag to order brand new!

The circles on the wall used the extra fabric from the bird mobile and I just stretched them on embroidery hoops.

I just added this sweet banner a few weeks ago as I was frustrated because I never found anything for the windows. It took me an hour to make and just used up leftover fabric. We put the dresser in the closet to save on wall space in the room and rather than using closet doors, we hung a white Pottery Barn shower curtain on a drapery rod. I plan on trying bits of matching ribbon between the rings at the top one of these days.

So that’s the nursery, growing into a toddler, one day little girl’s room. Okay, now it’s your turn! In the comments below, leave a link to your blog post highlighting a corner of your house! You could even describe it in the comments if you don’t have a blog or take pictures.

____________________________

I started a new way to connect with my readers. If you go to Facebook and look for “Mommy Needs Coffee” in the search bar you will find a page for this blog. “Like” the page and you’ll get Facebook updates of blog posts. I also want to create a place where we can discuss things – from parenting to cooking, to potty training, blogging, photography, faith etc. So please — go on over to Facebook, “like” the page and start by writing on the wall a bit about who you are! I’d love to get to know each one of you better and have conversations with you!

6 Responses to “corners of my home: Harper’s nursery/toddler room”

  1. lifecoachabby March 18, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    Gotta love Target. I love that bedding. We got both of our boys bedding there too. I also love that shade of green on the walls.

    • chellejd March 18, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

      Thanks so much! And yeah, I totally stay out of Target when the budget is tight because it’s the 1 place I have no self control! It’s just too good!

  2. Teresa Z March 18, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    Such a sweet room for a sweet girl!! Love the circles and the green. What an awesome deal on the kitchen… Score!! 🙂

    • chellejd March 19, 2011 at 12:00 am #

      Thanks Teresa! It’s so cozy; I love it! And the deal couldn’t have been any better! I love finding treasures like that!

  3. Jesse Duperre March 18, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    What a beautiful nursery! I never knew you were so creative and its perfect. I especially like that its gender neutral and the color of the walls! Congrats!

    • chellejd March 19, 2011 at 12:01 am #

      Thanks Jesse! She’s almost 2 and I’m finally taking pictures. Hmmm… can you say 3rd child?

Leave a Reply

