one percent changes

24 Mar

I have a great friend, Jessi, over at Naptime Diaries, who is doing a new weekly challenge on her blog. The challenge is to make small changes each week towards a healthier you. Make a 1% change. This may not seem like much, but “little, costly-yet-still-easy, baby steps lead to life change.” When looking at the changes in our lives to be healthier, physically, emotionally, spiritually – it can all seem so overwhelming. BUT when we break that down into small changes, then it actually seems very manageable!

So here’s the challenge:

  • Make a 1% change in some area of your life that will lead to a healthier YOU. This change may be a daily change or a weekly change. For some it’s exercising 2 days a week for 30 min. For others it might be eliminating that Diet Coke at lunch time. Whatever it is, think small. We’re going to build on those.
  • If you want to join in, click on the “1% change” box on the right hand side, it’ll take you to where you can link your blog post. All you have to do is blog your 1% change each Wednesday then link it.

OKAY….My first 1% change is adding WATER to my daily intake. This may seem way easy for some of you, but I really drink 2 cups of coffee in the morning then maybe a glass or two of wine in the evening, without much in between. So, my ultimate goal is to add in 64 oz. of water a day, but my 1% change is to drink 40 oz. I know that’s more than 1%, but it’s okay. 1% would have been like a shot glass of water and well, for any of you who know me, I’m kind of an overachiever. 🙂 It’s a baby step that is a big change for me. So today I started with my water bottle next to me and did it! It wasn’t even that difficult. I think the consistency of doing it may be wherein the difficulty lies.

I’d love to hear your 1% change. Drop a comment here or head over on that square over there…

 

3 Responses to “one percent changes”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. making changes: unplugging « - March 31, 2011

    […] started last week with Week 1 of “1% Changes.” You can go back and read the background on what it is. Anyways, this week my 1% change was […]

  2. this one may be hard! « - April 6, 2011

    […] case you were wondering, my week #1 1% change was to drink more water each day. I’m definitely doing better with this one then I was before the challenge. I also think it […]

  3. you are what you eat « - April 21, 2011

    […] Week 1: more water […]

Leave a Reply

