family fun nights reinstated

26 Mar

Making boxes into robots

 

So our family used to be really big into Family Fun Nights before Harper bug came along. Then life just seemed a little bit busier and time and energy to plan the, seemed a little bit less. But I’ve been feeling lately that we need to reinstitute them back into our weekly doings, usually on Friday nights. The idea was to plan a theme night that we could just have fun being a family- it would include decorating in that theme, food, and activity. Usually that morning the boys would find out the theme but nothing that we were doing. Sometimes they didn’t even know the theme. They would get so excited! I can remember them going off to preschool telling their teachers and friends about that night they were looking forward to. We have great memories from doing it. So, here’s my accountability in doing it again – I’m telling you guys. Seriously though, I plan on posting about our Family Fun Nights to hopefully inspire and share ideas. Here’s links to the ones we’ve done in the past that I blogged about:

Pirate Night

Camping Night

Boxes!

Dinosaurs

Race Car Night

Backwards Night

Baseball Night

So look forward to more Family Fun Nights starting within the next week or so!

Digging for dinosaur "bones"

8 Responses to “family fun nights reinstated”

  1. Becca March 26, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    Everytime I read about people who do family fun nights, I really want to start doing them with our family!!! 🙂 such fun ideas – thanks for sharing!

    • chellejd March 26, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

      Thanks Becca! They take a bit of work, but they are SO worth it!! For us, it helps us get out of the complacency of evenings and dinners at home and we have a blast!

  2. alely March 27, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    yay for family nights! we use to have those all the time when my kids were littles but now that their teens and with extracurricular activities, social events, jobs…those times are far and few between and i cherish those times when we do have those moments.

    • chellejd March 28, 2011 at 7:24 am #

      Thanks Alely for reminding me to enjoy those moments as they pass quickly!

  3. erin March 28, 2011 at 1:54 am #

    Such fun themes! I love planning family activities. I haven’t done themed, but I remember my mom planning them and they were seriously the best.

    • chellejd March 28, 2011 at 7:24 am #

      Thanks Erin!

  4. Meg March 28, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    I love this idea! That box robot is so fun! I found your blog on Faith Blogs and was instantly drawn to click on it because we use the same WordPress theme! haha…its the little things…

    • chellejd March 28, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

      That’s funny! I was on your blog the other day for the same reason! Loved your couch trash post. Something I would TOTALLY do!

Leave a Reply

