pray for sweet glory and psalm 139

5 Apr

My dear friend Jessi over at Naptime Diaries is sitting in the PICU with her 3 year old daughter Glory right now as I write this. They’re on day 3 of being there. You can go HERE to read the story of what happened in Jessi’s words, but the shortened version is that they woke Sunday morning to Glory having seizures. She seizured for over 5 hours before drs. were able to get them under control with very strong anti-seizure medication. She was unresponsive for a period of time as well. Doctors have been running tests to determine the cause of the seizures and so far, praise God, they’ve found nothing significant. Nick and Jessi are such amazing people drawing so much on the strength of God to sustain them through this. They want nothing more than to be able to give Him glory and see Glory’s story impact others and change lives. Please pray for sweet Glory as she recovers, for her to have peace in an unfamiliar and fearful setting, for Nick as he returns to work this week, for rest for Jessi as she’s exhausted, for peace as their two other young children are two hours away at their family’s home, and ultimately for healing. You can stop over at Naptime Diaries and leave a word of encouragement as well. I know they’d love it.

Below is Psalm 139. We’ve been praying this over them this week. Read it. May you find comfort in these words as well.

Psalm 139

O Lord You have examined my heart and know everything about me.

You know when I sit down or stand up. You know my thoughts even when I’m far away.

You see me when I travel and when I rest at home. You know everything I do.

You know what I’m going to say even before I say it, Lord.

You go before me and follow me. You place your hand of blessing on my head.

Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too great for me to understand!

I can never escape from your Spirit! I can never get away from your presence!

If I go up to the heaven you are there; if I go down to the grave you are there.

If I ride the wings of the morning, if I dwell in the furthest oceans,

even there your hand will guide me, and your strength will support me.

I could ask the darkness to hide me and the light around me to become night –

but even in the darkness I cannot hide from you. To you the night shines as bright as day.

Darkness and light are the same to you.

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb.

Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous – how well I know it.

You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.

You saw me before I was born. Ever day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed.

How precious are your thoughts about me, O God. They cannot be numbered!

I can’t even count them; the outnumber the grains of sand! And when I wake up, you are still with me!

O God, if only you would destroy the wicked! Get out of my life, you murderers!

They blaspheme you; your enemies m=isuse your name.

O Lord shouldn’t I hate those who hate you? Shouldn’t I despise those who oppose you?

Yes, I hate them with total hatred. For your enemies are my enemies.

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.

Point out anything in me that offends you, and lead me along the path of everlasting life.

9 Responses to “pray for sweet glory and psalm 139”

  1. The Olive Tree April 5, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    Where two or more are gathered…praying for sweet Glory!

    • chellejd April 7, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

      Thank you so much! She went home today from the hospital. I know healing happened because of all the prayers lifted up!

  2. The Olive Tree April 5, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    p.s. I never check my email, but consider me your newest follower via comments 🙂

    • chellejd April 7, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

      Yea!!! So happy! Let’s get to know each other! 🙂

  3. Jessi April 5, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    thank you Sister. Can’t wait to tell Glor all about this:)

  4. Marlo April 5, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    What a beautiful verse, we will definately pray for Glory and the family!!!

    • chellejd April 7, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

      Thanks Marlo! She went home today, but continue to pray. I know you understand the difficulties. 🙂

  5. Kim Alford April 5, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    Sweet sweet!! ❤
    continuing to pray!!

    • chellejd April 7, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

      Thanks Kim! Glory went home today but she’ll still need our prayers.

Leave a Reply

