inadequacy

20 Apr

How often do we feel inadequate or insecure in what we do as moms, teachers, and homemakers? Or as fathers, bloggers, grandparents, students or just humans? For me the laundry is piled up, the baby whined all day long, and we’re off track for school. I can’t seem to go to bed early enough to get up early enough for the peace to start my day. Feelings of inadequacy creep in, usually unnoticed at first.

It starts as frustration.

Then you hear whispers of “you’re just not good.

Or “maybe you shouldn’t be doing this.”

As a Christian, I feel like I hear that all the time,

          “you’re not a good Christ follower.”

                                   “You don’t spend enough time in God’s Word.”

You don’t serve in enough areas.”

A pastor’s wife you are? Ha!”

In the Bible if we look at the life of Paul. it even tells us in 1 Corinthians 2:1-5 that,

When I came to you, brothers, I did not come with eloquence or superior wisdom as I proclaimed to you the testimony about God. For I resolved to know nothing while I was with you except Jesus Christ and him crucified. I came to you in weakness and fear, and with much trembling. My message and my preaching were not with wise and persuasive words, but with a demonstration of the Spirit’s power, so that your faith might not rest on men’s wisdom, but on God’s power.

Paul was an amazing man who was key throughout the Bible of preaching, teaching, being a missionary, and spreading the cause of Christ all over. Yet, this verse tells us that he felt weak, felt fear, was not eloquent, or superior in his words. However, this was okay because he was drawing on God’s power to accomplish his work, not his power. He lessened himself even so that God’s power would be recognized.

So if we feel inadequate with something then

we are forgetting the one who equips and gives us the power to accomplish that job.

It’s when we look to ourself to accomplish our tasks (the ones we even feel inadequate at doing), we can easily have impure motives for doing them. If I want to serve in the church in various areas, but doing it to be noticed or for a pat on the back, then my motives are wrong. If I feel totally inadequate that day as a mother, my children are wild, dirty, rambunctious and I’m feeling frustrated with it; I’m listening to the enemy’s lies and forgetting that God is the one who equips me every single day to be a mother.

We were created to bring glory to God. How can we shift the focus more from ourselves to one of dependence on God? How can we tune out the enemies lies that “we just aren’t good enough” and believe the one who gives us abundantly more than we can ever ask or imagine?

______________________________________________________

Don’t forget to visit the blog from Monday and enter to win a beautiful scripture print from Naptime Diaries. The giveaway ends Thursday at 9pm. You must leave a comment on THAT post to be entered.

6 Responses to “inadequacy”

  1. Jessi April 20, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    I’ve been thinking a lot on this lately too, friend. Talked a lot to my friend Mare while she was here about this, about the gap at the end of the day between what we’re able to do and what we wanted to do. Who we’d love to be and who we are, and WHAT we do with that gap. If we apply the gospel to it, or we just “try tomorrow” or become bitter. Love your heart.

    • chellejd April 20, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

      Thanks Jess! I’d love to continue that conversation with you over coffee sometime. Can’t wait to see my friend again! 🙂

  2. Barbie April 20, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    I feel inadequate every day. I am learning to stop striving for perfection and accept that there is no possible way I can accomplish everything. Allowing God into my day, to bring order, is key. Thank you for this post. Really spoke to my heart.

    • chellejd April 20, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

      Oh, that is so true! To stop trying to achieve that perfection is difficult. I think it’s just ingrained in some people to want to get there. I’m the same way. If I’m going to do it, I want to do it all the way. True words!

  3. Courtney April 20, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    I’m having exactly that kind of day today. Thank you for this. It was the reminder I needed. I’m not mothering alone, God is strengthening me.

    • chellejd April 20, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

      Nope, you’re never alone and tomorrow is always the beginning of a new day. Give yourself grace Momma, you’re doing great in His strength!

Leave a Reply

