weekend wrap-up

25 Apr

I actually used the timer to catch a rare pic of me with the littles! Ice cream man visit: good times!

Our weekend was a great one, moments of busyness, moments of peacefulness and rest, and moments of bandaids and ice. ‘Tis the life with my three monkeys! We had a Good Friday Night of Worship at Columbia Church that was so so so amazing. I wept as I worshipped the one hanging on the cross with these words:

Never knew through these nails would love unfold
And never knew these wounds would heal my soul
I’ve never seen such beauty and sorrow meet
The blood of Jesus was bled for me

It was our first Night of Worship and was just great. We sang, cried, took communion, and rejoiced and celebrated that the one who died, wouldn’t be in the tomb for long and the truth that because of that we can rejoice with God in heaven one day!

On Saturday we hung around and did some house things: canning strawberry jam, cleaning, chasing baby birds, spreading mulch. 

sent my man running

Enter in the bandaid: in moving some new mulch we found the largest centipede thing I have ever seen. Well, I thought it would be cute to throw it on hubby (a.k.a. bug baby). Yes, I did it. No shame, I know. He squealed like a girl then immediately looked for the bug for payback. As I ran away from him, I snagged my jeans and leg on the screw sticking from a piece of wood. Not too bad, but definitely needed a bandaid. While this is taking place, the boys were working on chasing the baby birds that decided to leave their nest, made snugly in our garage. 5 baby birds in all, hopping/flying in all directions. Momma bird squawking. They were getting lost in boxes and corners of the garage so we had to catch them and help them out. Golly gee! I couldn’t imaging being a momma with 5 to chase like that?!

Benjamin with baby bird

Then, we had our best friends over for dinner Saturday night. Love me some friends that can come for frozen pizza and salad (and even bring their own pizza!) and have just as much fun as if I had slaved in the kitchen all day. It was a perfect day. All day though I couldn’t help reflecting on how Jesus’ friends must have felt not knowing that the resurrection was coming. We have such a vantage point in the Easter story knowing how it ends. They didn’t have that. Hmm..

umh..the best pic I actually could get, for real

After dinner the kids were taking showers/baths. Enter in the need for ice: my calm, lovely wild, creative boys were in the shower and got the brainiac idea to soap up the shower floor with shampoo and soap, then “skate” on it back and forth in the shower. Hmm.. what about this doesn’t SOUND good?! Yes, little man, Benjamin slipped, fell, and hit his head on the tile wall (or floor). Egg on his head and hence the need for ice. Boys. Other than that, besides the nagging, awful headache I had all day, it was a very beautiful and wonderful day. 

As the weekend comes to a close, I am keenly aware that I don’t want this weekend’s feelings and thoughts to be “just Easter weekend” to me. I want to carry it thorough all year long. I want the cross to be in the forefront of my mind as I see my sinful nature and daily confess and turn from it. I want to live each day as if the tomb is empty and we have such a wonderful reason to celebrate. I want to know grace, give grace, and show my kids an example of grace. And lastly, I want to love. Deeply. 

Hoping you had a wonderful Easter!

One Response to “weekend wrap-up”

  1. Marilyn April 25, 2011 at 6:59 am #

    Michelle: You have described the perfect weekend, I believe….a little bit of this….a little bit of that….some laughter….some tears….some scrapes and bumps….fellowship with friends….add a surprise or two….all wrapped in love….the Father’s and a family’s. Wonderful memories!

Leave a Reply

