loving two special women

4 May

I am so blessed to have two wonderful mothers in my life. Each of them is special and unique in their own way, and God gave me one by birth and one by marriage, but they are two beautiful women that have shaped me, inspired me, and loved me. So, as Mother’s Day approaches, I just want to introduce you to each one and share some wonderful things about them.

My mom and Cade a few years ago

My mom, Peggy is my best friend. I am an only child by their choice. The crazy thing is, my mom didn’t think she was a very good mother when I was younger so they opted not to have other children. The reality couldn’t be further from the truth! 5 years ago, my mom and dad moved up here from Florida, where I was born and raised, to be closer to me and my family. I have seen her grow and move closer to God over the years as He has shaped her into a submissive wife, great friend, and a woman with a servant’s heart. Her favorite thing in all the world is hanging out with my dad and going for rides on their Harley. She loves to travel and enjoys sewing, knitting, and cooking. She has been a huge source of encouragement to me for everything – raising children, cooking, saving money, learning new things, or my marriage. She isn’t just someone I love but I really like her and would choose her each time. I love her to pieces and am so thankful, each day for a friend and mother like her.

My beautiful mother-in-law with Harper

The other special mom in my life is my mother-in-law, Linda. I’ve been married to my wonderful husband for 11 years this summer. When I married him, I married into this crazy, loud, sweetly wonderful and passionate Italian family. It was a stark contrast from the small, quiet family I had been raised in. My mother-in-law raised 3 great children in such a way that made all three of them see life as a place to learn and enjoy. She’s taught them about Christ and given them a long family legacy in being followers of Jesus. My mother-in-law fought and overcame breast cancer in 2007. For many, it would be absolutely traumatizing. For her, she persevered through it with such strength and dignity, drawing her strength on the Lord and trusting Him fully throughout the circumstances. She loves fiercely those around her and her family is so so so important to her. She’s taught me a lot about what a family is and how they take care of each other through her example. She is just an incredible example of grace, strength, and love.

I have learned so much through these two special women about how to be a woman, wife, mother, and friend. I am truly blessed to have them in my life and in my children’s lives. I love you Mom & Mom!

Happy Mother’s Day out there to all women. Even if you aren’t a mother, you may dream to be a mother, and you most certainly had a mother. Embrace your role as a woman and praise the one who made you as His beautiful creation. 

One Response to “loving two special women”

  1. Mom May 5, 2011 at 6:59 am #

    I am humbled! Love you!

Leave a Reply

