the wonderful world of boys – lesson 1

7 May

After parenting boys for 7 years now, I have learned a lot but sure have a lot of questions! Being a woman, and growing up an only child, raising boys was a whole new world to me. God made them SO different! But having two of them, 20 months a part, has tossed me into that new world head first. Let’s chat about them! Their wild and loud adventures, their ability to turn anything into a weapon, their emotions, their smells, their interests, potty talk, etc. I’m going to start this new series to look at the wonderful world of boys. Maybe we can gleam some insight from each other, support or encourage one another, at least have a few laughs.

Lesson 1 – smelly bathrooms

I’m going to cut straight to it with the first post. I want my bathroom to smell good again! What’s up with the never-ending, can’t-get-rid-of, pee smell?! Seriously y’all, I bleached the bathroom LAST WEEK and by Thursday it was reeking of pee again!! It’s not like I can even see it, like they missed the toilet (although that does occasionally happen) or it’s on the floor or anything. Blech! I’ve heard many other moms of boys complain about this same thing – so has anyone found the fix? I’ve tried cleaning it daily (who has time for that?!), air fresheners, and checking the bathroom after the littles use it (once again, who has time?!) but to no avail the bathroom reeks. Hmmm… maybe installing a urinal would work? That’s a thought. (not really, but I’m almost desperate here!)

Maybe one of you holds the key to the future of my bathroom smelling nice again? If not, at least we can commiserate together. At the least, you can catch a glimpse into the wonderful world of raising boys!

8 Responses to “the wonderful world of boys – lesson 1”

  1. alison May 7, 2011 at 6:52 am #

    oh.my.goodness. i am SO glad to read this. my son is 3.5 years old and my bathroom smells like a straight up urinal. i have been baffled by this! my daughter is 6 and her pee NEVER made the bathroom smell!! i have tried everything….putting one of those toilet bowl cleaners IN the bowl, spraying the bathroom, clorox wipes on the toilet seat everytime i walked by. nothing works. i’m thinking that when we move (one day) i will make sure that chan has his own bathroom somewhere VERY far from the rest of the house. definitely interested to see if anyone posts a solution!

  2. Michele May 7, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    Sometimes it is the rubber mat underneath the rug. No matter how much I washed it or cleaned the bathroom…THAT SMELL!

  3. Katie May 7, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    Girl, I’m swallowing a big pill of humble right now as I type this. Once, we shared a home with another gentleman, and he remarked once that the bathroom smelled like a “drunk tank”. Currently, our problems lie more with #2. As in massive toilet clogging due to certain children requiring an entire roll for one wipe. I feel your pain.

  4. Kim May 9, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Michelle, I have the same problem…it is so embarrassing…! Hoping someone offers some good advice!

  5. Kara @ Just1Step May 11, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    Just found you through the post at FaithBlogs. I’m excited to read your wisdom and experience on raising boys…my son is 14 months old and I know I have a lot of craziness coming my way. Fortunately I have three younger brothers, so not all things “boy” shock me, but still. I know I’m in for a ride. And, in regards, to this post, I am not looking forward to having a pee-smell bathroom all the time. Yay.

  6. Aimee May 13, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    wash the shower curtain every few weeks if it is next to the potty…my kids’ bathroom reeked too even though I had thoroughly cleaned it…realized it was the curtain!

  7. Emily Shipley May 15, 2011 at 1:43 am #

    Michelle,
    Our kids bathroom smelled the same way. I have found that although I can not get rid of the smell for good Fresh Wave odor Eliminating Crystals (sold at bed bath and beyond) work awesome. It has a very mild scent and not even noticeable, but has made a huge difference and I hardly ever smell the pee smell anymore. It is quite expensive, $15.99 but if you wait until you have a $5 off coupon it is a little better. It seems to last 2-3 months maybe. Hope this helps!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. the wonderful world of boys – lesson 2 « - May 24, 2011

    […] for the great feedback on Lesson 1 about our wonderful boys! You guys had some great ideas about the smell of little boys’ […]

Leave a Reply

