corners of my home: living room

11 May

I’m guest blogging today over at FaithBlogs! Be sure to go check it out!! I’m so honored and excited to be invited by them to share my thoughts!!

___________________________________________________________

I’m excited to do the fourth post in a new series on my blog that will show you a bit of who I am and the things that are important to our family. Week 1, My front entryway can be found HERE and week 2, Harper’s nursery/bedroom can be found HERE. Week 3, my kitchen is HERE. Each week, until I’ve completed the tour, I am going to take you on a tour of my home and show you some of my favorite corners. I would LOVE for you to do the same if you have a blog and post a link in the comments so we can (1) get to know each other, (2) see others’ creativity, (3) get decorating ideas!

I’m showing you my living room today. We hope to install wood floors in here one day. But for the room where we probably spend the most amount of time, I like it. It’s cozy and warm with splashes of our life throughout it.

This fireplace was a dark red brick color when we bought the house. I hated it. So a few years ago, I decided to paint it white. Everyone I knew thought I was crazy to paint it, but my husband was okay with it so we did it. I haven’t had a day that regretted the decision. It lightened up the room so much! The mantle my dad made us for a Christmas gift this past year.

Once again, I wanted to do something with paint and I was tired of our old tv cabinet. It was dark brown and I just wasn’t loving it anymore. So enter in blue paint. I love it! I like the look of painted furniture and it added years to the life of the cabinet.

I’ve posted before about THIS red desk. I bought it at Goodwill for next-to-nothing and I really like the splash of color it is in our living room. It makes a fun side table for the couch and fits well with my mixed up decorating.

My wonderful friend, Katie painted this great painting for our family. I love the reminder it is. (Sorry the picture is blurry!)

There it is! Simple. Bright but warm. Splashes of color here and there. Functional. (stained.) 🙂 but a well-loved room.

Okay, your turn! In the comments below, leave a link to your blog post highlighting a corner of your house! You could even describe it in the comments if you don’t have a blog or take pictures.

3 Responses to “corners of my home: living room”

  1. melissa May 11, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    the black and white “we do the cross” piece is my favorite. She should make more of those- I think people would really like them!

  2. Allison May 11, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    Katie’s painting is my favorite, too. If she made more, I’d buy one!

  3. Keely May 11, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    I’m so thankful for your words on Faith Blogs today. I needed that post today!

Leave a Reply

