there’s a birthday happening around here

13 May

Wow! Can’t believe that this weekend my firstborn, sweet Cade will be 7! It’s amazing that we’re getting to actually do a party for the little man since he’s changed his party-thinking mind 3 times. But true like him, we’re having it at home with close friends, doing our favorite things – legos, treasure hunts, sword fights, movies, science projects, and silly string battles.

one day old

Sweet Cade Thomas: You entered the world ahead of time, showing your excitement that’s oh-so-hard to contain, and you haven’t changed one bit. You’re such a bundle of creativity, curiosity, and passion hidden underneath those curls, that some days I just don’t know what to do with you but love you and try to love you well.

two and a half years old - look at that hair!

I love how you love animals and notice every.single.thing in nature. You love justice, and things being the right way. This year has been a big one for you as you have learned so many new things and tested your abilities time and time again, stretching and growing. I’m so proud of you. You’re my dare-devil, my social one, the one who is a little unsure of himself, trying to cover that up in big-boyness.

best friends

You care for and love your sister so gently, teaching her everything you know (even things like saying “poop” today!). You love your brother and are truly his best friend, although you’d never ever admit it. You’re the jokster, teasing and playing just to get that reaction. I’m so excited to see how God is going to use you and your passion and leadership skills. I know He has great and mighty things planned for you.

almost seven. be still my heart.

Over and over I say that parenting is a mirror into who you are as a person and Cade, you show me each day who I am. For you, I learn from that image and strive to do better, be better, and give grace. You make me better. And I love you like nothing else. And like no one else.

Happy Birthday to one of the sweetest, coolest, funnest boys I know.  

Love, Mom

2 Responses to “there’s a birthday happening around here”

  1. Mom May 13, 2011 at 7:36 am #

    You made me cry…I love the way that you recognize Gods gifts in your children. I feel so blessed to be a part of Cade’s life. Wow-7 years old..where did the years go?

  2. Katie May 16, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

    This was just so beautiful. You have captured your sentiments so well that I feel like I know your son well, and you have painted such a gracious picture of his attributes and your relationship. I am moved. And I think our firstborns need to meet. It seems they are alot alike. 🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

