tutorial: making a yo-yo necklace

16 May

Since making the sweet Yo-Yo Necklace for THIS giveaway, I’ve made three others. It’s a fun, quick, inexpensive project that requires minimal sewing skills. If you can use a needle and thread, you can do this! So, I’ve put together a little tutorial for you so you can make one of your own. It may not be the way that others create the necklaces, but it’s the way that worked for me.

First, you pick out some really cute fabrics. You don’t need much of each, I think I bough 1/4 of a yard, figuring I can use the extras for other projects. You need to find something to use as a template and trace a circle onto each one of your fabrics, about 3 inches across. I used a drinking glass.

Next, cut out the circles. You can cut as many as you want for as many yo-yos as you want to have. I made my necklace with 3 yo-yos.

Get that needle and thread ready. Do NOT knot the thread at the end. You’re going to pull the needle through your fabric leaving the thread loose. You’ll need to pull it later. Fold over your edge just a bit and sew around the circle. You want to have your loose ends of thread on the inside of your fabric.

Once you’ve sewn all around the circle, pull both ends of the thread, making the circle bunch up into a pouch.

The design side of the fabric should be on the outside of the pouch. Pull the threads tight being careful not to break them and tie into a knot. Cut the ends unless you want to sew on a bead.

If you want a beaded middle on your yo-yo, thread the bead onto the thread before cutting the end and sew into middle of yo-yo, going right through the back of the yo-yo.

Stitch the yo-yos together being careful not to go through the other side of the yo-yo. Keep the stitch inside the yo-yo, holding it in place. This is the reverse of the necklace. The end yo-yos here have beaded middles and the one in the middle is sewn on backwards. You can see the stitches on the backside where the beads are sewn on. The back doesn’t particularly have to be pretty since no one will see it.

Measure a chain for the length you’d like. I like to safety pin the chain onto the yo-yos in the places I want to sew it on so that as I sew it helps hold it in place and keeps it still. Sew the ends of the chain or jump rings onto the yo-yo, once again being careful not to go all the way through the yo-yo, just on the back. Repeat for other side.

Snip all threads. Enjoy it and wear it!

I hope this was clear to you. If not, leave a comment and I’ll answer it trying to help you! Also, I’d love to see links to pictures if you make one! I get tons of compliments on mine!

3 Responses to “tutorial: making a yo-yo necklace”

  1. Mom May 17, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    Thanks for making mine!! I am one blessed momma.

  2. Kim G. Alford June 6, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

    I had to come back and bookmark this.. definitely want to try it when I get some craft time! Looks like you had a fun (adorable) party celebrating your littlest! 🙂 Very Sweet!! ❤

    • chellejd June 6, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

      Thanks Kim! I’m glad it was helpful for you. It really isn’t that difficult with a little hand sewing know-how. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

