“me do it!”

18 May

marker + toddler = face art

We’ve entered that toddler phase where the words “me do it” are a frequent occurrence each day. Whether it is buckling the car seat buckle, putting on shoes, taking off her diaper, or cutting her food, Harper exclaims “me do it” over and over, quite emphatically too. This is requiring a lot more patience from me! After being out of that toddler stage for a few years I have forgotten what it was like. A lot of the time her cries of “me do it” turn to tears of frustration as she doesn’t quite have the skills needed to accomplish whatever task is at hand. She wants so desperately to have the independence to make her own decisions. She desires to feel the joy from being able to do it in her own means. But as her mom, I can watch the process from the distance, my experience knows the outcome and has the knowledge to help and assist to ensure a favorable outcome.

I was thinking on this the other day in an exasperated moment and realized that it’s much how I am with God. I want to do “it” myself. Very often I try to handle my own problems, my own decisions, my own conflicts without seeking His help or assistance. Sometimes I hand it over to Him, I let Him in the driver’s seat for a quick moment, until I feel that need for control again and I slowly take it back into my own hands. I wonder why I’m frustrated with my decision or I can’t figure out an answer. Problems seem like weights on my shoulders, and conflict goes unresolved. However, like I have foreknowledge of what my daughter is experiencing and the outcome, God knows the bigger picture in my life too.

Casting the whole of your care [all your anxieties, all your worries, all your concerns, once and for all] on Him, for He cares for you affectionately and cares about you watchfully. 1 Peter 5:7 (AMP)

Cast your burden on the Lord [releasing the weight of it] and He will sustain you; He will never allow the [consistently] righteous to be moved (made to slip, fall, or fail). Psalm 55:22 (AMP)

‘Do not fear, for I am with you; do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’ Isaiah 41:10

I can trust God with anything and He knows best. I don’t need to be frustrated, anxious, fearful, or stressed because I know He will sustain, strengthen, uphold, and help me. And just like a patient momma, even more so, He waits, lovingly, for me to trust Him for this help. I don’t need to echo the words “me do it” to Him, I just need to trust God and hold out my hand.

4 Responses to ““me do it!””

  1. katie May 18, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    Wise words and lovely insight. I can only imagine how frustrated God can be with me, but his grace….what a thing.

    • chellejd May 18, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

      I didn’t fully understand my relationship with God until having kids, you’re so right!

  2. bonnie Widmaier May 18, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    oh so true. i feel like my children show me so often how i am with the lord. sadly i am not always a great example of the Lord to my children. daily i am working on this.

    • chellejd May 18, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

      I think we all are Bonnie. Isn’t it great that we have children to refine us and make us better followers of Christ?

Leave a Reply

