randomness: target & good reads

1 Jun

So how does Target do it? There is like this $50.00 vortex thing that no matter what, no matter how many items I go to buy, I can never spend less than $50.00. Last night I went to buy shampoo, razors and deodorant and I came home with clothes for Harper, a baby book, mouthwash, a jump rope for the boys, and the items mentioned above. AND SPENT MORE THAN $50.00. I sure do love me some Target though. Love me their clearance, love me their kid clothes, love me their home decor, love me their jewelry and accessories and shoes. I can’t think of anything I don’t love about Target. I’ll even forgive the one-line-open-with-seven-people-waiting because I found an adorable shirt on clearance! Can anyone relate?!

Sweet shirt for Harper...too cute!

In other news, I am reading through “one thousand gifts” by Ann Voskamp and LOVING it. I cannot express how this book is changing my life and how I wish everyone would read it. The tagline for the book is “a dare to love fully right where you are” and it is truly getting to the heart of that with her beautiful writing. It’s about gratitude and Christ and living life reflecting on the two. I don’t want to spoil any of the book for those of you who haven’t read it, but I will say you need to walk run to the bookstore or library (which probably has 7 holds before you) and get it. I can only read one to two chapters at a time because I need to reflect on what she says. Ann’s blog is amazing too and can be found at A Holy Experience. She has a very poetic way of writing that always leaves me encouraged, wanting God more, and wanting to be a better parent. Love it.

__________________________________________________________________

I wanted to remind you that you can join the group “Mommy Needs Coffee” on Facebook to keep updated on new posts, discuss posts or topics, and to interact with a community. I love posting dinner ideas, parenting questions, or other things that just can’t be hashed out through reading a blog. I LOVE seeing who the community is that reads this, and would love to get to know you better too.Check it out if you haven’t already done so!

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “randomness: target & good reads”

  1. alison June 1, 2011 at 7:01 am #

    oh how i wish the my target vortex dollar amount was only $50. i think mine is higher because the closest target to me is an hour away so i go a little (or a LOT) nuts when i get there! i have yet to walk out without spending at least $200-$300 dollars. sheesh. i am definitely going to check out that book, “one thousand gifts”. our tiny local library most likely won’t have it so i’ll probably end up with my very own copy 🙂

    • Linda Richards June 1, 2011 at 8:13 am #

      How interesting. I am reading 1,000 gifts also… My girlfriend Carol gave it to me. What a wonderful gift! I recently saw it on an end cap at Barnes and Noble. It’s generating quite a “buzz”.

    • chellejd June 1, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

      An hour away? That could be a good thing or not…. 🙂

  2. Victoria June 1, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    Yep. Went to Target last night. $85.00 poorer I left. Love the Target though!

    • chellejd June 1, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

      See, it’s true! 🙂

  3. Aimee June 9, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    I leave tomorrow for an overnight retreat in NC on artful living with Ann as the main speaker…she and I have been so looking forward to meeting in “real time” and I am giddy!

Leave a Reply

