gardening, prayer, New York, and a giveaway

21 Jun

It’s going to be a hot one here today! Heat indexes in the 105-110. Ye-ow!! So we have  playdate scheduled with some friends to help occupy the littles. Hopefully we’ll find some water play in there somewhere too to keep cool!

A few random happenings/thoughts today:

Our garden: So we are year two into gardening. Up until this point, I was that person who kills everything living. But last year we did okay considering it was our first year and this year is going okay as well. I enjoy gardening and enjoy eating what we grow even more! It’s such a great experience for the littles as they tend to it, learn about it, and eat from it. This year we’re growing tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, zucchini, melons, onions, strawberries, and watermelons. My tomatoes aren’t doing well, but our watermelons are taking over everything! They’re growing so quickly too that you can almost see them growing if you stand by and watch! There are so many life lessons you can learn from being in the garden.

Prayer: My heart is burdened for struggles that many around me are having. Battles with illness, miscarriage, life changes, struggles with their children, church transitions and changes, and the list goes on. Don’t the needs of those around you just leave you weary sometimes? I am glad I can call on the One who listens and is always there. Some days I just feel I need more quiet in my life to really focus on prayer and time with Him.

New York: In 9 days we’re travelling to New York for a family reunion and some time in the city. I’ve never been and am really excited to bring the kids and see everything. We have planned to ride on the Staten Island ferry, go on the subway, visit Times Square, Ground Zero, and Central Park. What great ideas do you have to share about going to New York? Sites to see with kids? Things to avoid? Hints, tips, tricks? Bring it on!

Giveaway: I’m really excited about a great giveaway I have coming up at the end of the week. It’s something unique, but something that I love and really think you’re going to like as well. I’ll be introducing you to a really special gal too. And I KNOW we can get more people to enter than those that entered the last giveaway. So once it’s up, pass it on to your friends, leve a comment – you never know – you could be the winner (although you probably are one who thinks you never win anything!). 🙂

Enjoy the first day of summer! We’re working hard on our summer lists and trying to keep the littles from being bored.

5 Responses to “gardening, prayer, New York, and a giveaway”

  1. melissa June 21, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    I know you are burdened with all the things that your friends are dealing with right now but I love how you are so caring!

    And your watermelons are rocking it! I need to step outside tonite and take a peek at your garden– I haven’t seen it yet this year!!!

  2. racheljthomas June 21, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    Right across from the Southeast (I think) entrance to Central Park is FAO Schwarz. Take the kids there!! The toys are way too expensive but they have that piano from the movie Big that they can jump on! Enjoy NY! I’m jealous!

    • chellejd June 21, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

      Oh great idea! Thanks! We’ll definitely check it out!

  3. Aimee June 21, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    do y’all belong to a local pool? Quail Valley is really nice and is accepting more families…just a thought!

    • chellejd June 21, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

      We don’t belong to a pool but have friends with pools! We also belong to the YMCA but their pool is indoor and cold!

Leave a Reply

