traveling with kids: some creative ideas & a giveaway

10 Jul

I feel like I’ve spent the better part of the past few days at home doing laundry to prepare for our trip this week to Michigan. Whew! Once this summer is finished and we’re home for good I’ll be so thankful. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve loved our family time and trips and all, but home is home sweet home. In preparation for our trip to New York last week I put together some GREAT travel boxes for the littles to do in the car and they had a great time with them. I highly suggest making some like them if you’re traveling with littles.

My children are 2, 5.5, and 7. In my boxes I put the following:

     For the baby – stickers (as seen above!), paper, a toy microphone, a travel magna doodle pad, a book, post-it notes, fruit snacks, a few candy treats, and a toy horse

     For the biggers – stickers, a notepad, colored pencils, a roll of aluminum foil (for sculpting). a pack of  pipe cleaners, a roll of tape, post-it notes, dry erase markers (for window art and a laminated Bingo game I made), a new book, a hidden pictures book, a book of mazes, fruit snacks, fruit roll ups, and a few candy treats

Some of the items I wrapped for the joy of opening them. I used the plastic shoebox sized boxes from the dollar store and I wrote each child’s name on the lid with a marker. When we go on trip 3 out of 4 of the Richards Family Tour next week, I’ll definitely be loading their boxes back up for our long car drive!

I also had read about doing a fun thing to help the kids pass the time and not ask “how much longer?” every 10 minutes. Out of colored paper I cut rectangles. On each rectangle I wrote “Travel Ticket.” Then I put a travel ticket for every 30 min. of our travel time in a plastic bag for each child. Every 30 minutes I would ask for a “travel ticket” and the kids would hand me one. You could even have them trade them in for a treat. It was great because they’d realize that they had 4 left in the bag and that would be 2 hours until we got to our destination. I don’t think they asked “how much longer” a single time. They were able to see how much time had passed and how much time was still left.

Hopefully some of these ideas will help you in traveling this summer with your littles. I think after we finish our 4th trip next month, I could write a book about traveling with kids!

_____________________________________________

NOTE: Don’t forget to go to THIS post and listen to Erin Elisabeth Aubrey’s music! I will be giving her CD away tonight at 10pm to one of my blog readers who comments on THIS post. There haven’t been that many comments so your odds are GREAT!! 

3 Responses to “traveling with kids: some creative ideas & a giveaway”

  1. racheljthomas July 11, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    Cute ideas! When I was a kid, our family moved from Texas to Oregon. A group from our church in Texas made big brown activity bags for each state. Every time we got to a new state, my parents would pull over at the rest area and we’d get out our new bag. It added a little excitement and an opportunity to use the bathroom! I don’t remember much about what was in the bag… I remember bubble gum and this special glue that you could stick on the windows but would come clean. We got in trouble when we made “Help” signs and stuck them on the back windshield! Haha!

  2. Mom July 11, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Love the ideas for traveling..you are so creative and such a planner. Wish I were more like you!!

  3. Debbie August 10, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    I came over from FaithBlogs. Thank you for these great tips! We’ll be making several hour-long trips, so it’s great to have some fresh ideas for our four little ones.

Leave a Reply

